Dayora Editorial Team · Updated 22 September 2026
Best Voice Journaling Apps in 2026 (Honest Comparison)
A transcript to keep. A reflection to sit with. A way to revisit old entries. Start with what you want after you stop speaking.
Find your starting pointSaved as an entry
Told Alex I could take one more thing on. I wanted a quiet evening, but saying yes felt easier than explaining.
I noticed
You made room for someone else before checking whether you had any room left. The quiet evening mattered to you, too.
Published by Dayora, one of the six apps below. We checked official sources on 22 September 2026. This compares published features, not hands-on experience or transcription accuracy.
Find your starting point
Dayora
For a spoken entry with a reflection to return to. Voice notes, transcription and entry reflections are free; two-way calls and deeper Reflect memory are in Plus.
Dayora plans and allowancesDay One
For a multimedia journal across devices. Silver includes audio and transcription; Gold adds AI summaries, prompts and Daily Chat. Features vary by platform.
Rosebud
For voice input with conversational follow-up. Its free plan is due to retire on 30 September 2026, so check the ongoing cost. Existing writing remains available for export.
Rosebud’s free-plan changeLound
For voice journaling on iPhone with a published daily allowance. Its free plan includes pattern insights and chat about saved entries.
Speakwise
For turning spoken notes and meetings into summaries, action items and Notion pages. Cross-entry journal reflection is not established by its product page.
Untold
For spoken or typed entries, follow-up questions and themes over time. Check the in-app offer: public pages do not specify an ongoing free voice allowance.
Compare features, limits and sources
Free to download does not always mean free transcription. Unknown allowances are marked below. Prices and features can vary by region, store and plan.
| App | Platform | Free voice allowance | Transcription | Reflection across entries | Paid extras | Official sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dayora | Web browser on any device, plus free apps for iPhone (App Store) and Android (Google Play). | Voice notes up to 5 minutes each. Transcription and entry reflections are free. | Turns what you said into text for a dated entry. The reflection follows. | Entry insights and weekly pattern emails are free. Deeper Reflect chat memory is in Plus. | Plus adds two-way calls, daily synthesis, Deep Self Reports, relationship stories and deeper Reflect memory. Calls and reports have allowances. | |
| Day One | Apple devices, Android and web; feature availability varies by platform. | Basic is free. Audio recording and transcription are listed under paid Silver. | Included with Silver, alongside audio recording. | Gold lists AI summaries, prompts and Daily Chat. The plan page does not specify the scope of cross-entry recall. | Published annual prices: Silver US$49.99; Gold US$74.99. Gold adds reflective AI features. | |
| Rosebud | iOS, Android and web. Thrive upgrades are offered in the mobile apps. | Rosebud has announced that its free plan will retire on 30 September 2026. The sources do not give a fixed free-minute allowance. | Voice transcription and read-aloud responses count toward the weekly AI usage budget. | Bloom and Thrive both include memory, conversations and reflections. | Thrive adds a larger usage budget and advanced models. Check the offer in the app; no single price is assumed here. | |
| Lound | iOS. | 10 entries and 30 recording minutes per day; 5 minutes per recording. Also 50 journal chat messages per day. | Turns spoken notes into text for reflection. | Pattern insights are included free. Chat can draw on saved entries. | Premium adds semantic search, smart notifications and more capacity. The linked page does not publish a price. | |
| Speakwise | iPhone. | Not specified on the linked product page. | Voice-to-text, speaker labels, summaries and action items. | Cross-entry journal reflection is not established by the linked page. | The linked page does not establish the current price or paid-plan boundary. | |
| Untold | iPhone and iPad are confirmed by its App Store listing. Other platforms were not verified. | Free to download with in-app purchases. A continuing free voice allowance is not specified in the linked sources. | Speech-to-text journaling; you can also switch to typing. | The site describes themes over time, visual trends and Ask Your Entries. | Premium subscriptions are listed in the store. Feature boundaries and voice limits are not established by these sources. |
Before you choose
Which voice journal can I use for free?
Dayora includes voice notes up to 5 minutes each, transcription and entry reflections in its free core. Lound publishes a free allowance of 10 entries and 30 recording minutes per day, with 5 minutes per recording. Rosebud has announced free-plan retirement on 30 September 2026. Check the linked sources for current terms.
Does an AI summary mean the app remembers my journal?
A summary of one recording and an answer grounded in older entries are different capabilities. Check whether the app can use earlier entries, whether that feature needs a paid plan, and whether you can inspect the original evidence. Even when retrieval finds the right passage, an answer can omit a relevant detail.
How should I compare voice journaling apps?
Try the same short, non-sensitive recording in the apps that fit your budget. Check names, dates, corrections, export options and recording limits. Read the privacy terms before uploading personal material, including who processes audio and whether data can be used for model improvement. These products are journaling tools, not a substitute for professional care.